current
archives
profile
info
email
notes
host
design

fires
16 May 2014 at 6:41 pm

What a weird week...

I've been surrounded by all the San Diego fires, slightly freaking out at times because this is the closest and most extreme they've been since I moved out 4 years ago.

But we are safe. All is well. Current home is safe. New home (we're moving next door!!!!!!) is safe. C's other home that he's currently revamping to put on the market is safe.

Fires were too close for comfort, but by some weird luck both areas were closer to the places they were sending evacuees than the actual fires so that was promising.

And after finally feeling comfortable about the fire situation I get a call from my mom.... My childhood home, thousands of miles away, caught fire this morning. Totally random. Electrical or a furnace issue or something.

I mean.... What???

Thank GOD everyone was okay. And by everyone I mean my mom, her boyfriend, my baby brother who just graduated high school last night, and his SIX friends staying over.

All things considered, and despite significant damage in some parts, everything is okay. Nothing priceless ruined as far as I know. No lives threatened.

So because of that I kind of have to laugh because the irony is just remarkable.

Also, my sister was supposed to fly out to LA to live for the summer today but moved her flight to tomorrow. And got a new 2014 car today to have shipped out to LA with her. Also kind of interesting.

In other news, I think I'm going to become a real estate agent. Studying so I can hopefully take the test and get licensed in a few months.

It's not something I'd EVER considered but it came up and I was like, I think I'd like that. And I think I'd be good at it. All my priorities fit with it. It seems a little too perfect but I DO have to study a shit ton and I don't know a lot about the industry (thankfully C does so I've picked up on a lot and he's an amazing resource). So it's not gonna be easy by any means. But I feel good about it. Excited. Nervous. But good.

Also we're moving! Which I mentioned. I'm so fucking excited. Lots to be done to the house first so we probably won't be in until the end of the month but it will be so so great.

The house is ridiculous. Huge. Amazing views. Ridiculous. It's a very serious, very grown up house. Maybe a little premature?? But we have lots of options. Think we'll live in it and rent the bottom as a vacation rental. If we end up not liking that we could rent it to a permanent tenant. We could rent the whole thing out and move downtown. We could live in it and flip it and sell it in a couple years.

Lots of options.

Life is good. It's crazy and sad and scary and unfair and stupid. But ultimately, it's good. I'm very fortunate to feel that way.

prev or next