current
archives
profile
info
email
notes
host
design

fuck shingles
24 May 2012 at 6:11 pm

I have shingles. On my ass. It is incredibly unpleasant, but thankfully pain killers make it bearable. If only it could get rid of the itch...
I've been off work all week because of it. I'd rather be working, but like my boss said when I told him, "A break would probably be good for you..."
Can't argue with that. I work very hard. Especially for someone my age, it seems. One of my best friends just complained about working 2 8 hours shifts per week as "intense". Not to shit on anyone else's work but I WISH I had that schedule!
I can't really complain, though. I probably make more money than a lot of people my age. And I enjoy working. My boss just told me today that they're going to take this whole week as paid without using any PTO because of all the hard work I've been doing, which is super thoughtful of them. Getting recognized for hard work makes working hard worthwhile!

Despite the shingles situation, I'm going home this weekend! It's been planned for a while. Kelly is coming in from NYC and we're going to be in LR for part of the time together. It'll be a huge surprise for Alexis, who will be celebrating her birthday, as well as a lot of other people. I'm also surprising my mom. I can't wait to see her! And my siblings!! And Kelly! And everyone else!

Clint will be in Miami for his buddy's bachelor party.

It's amazing how far we've come in the past 3 years... I just went through some of these older entries and, wow, did we have our volatile moments. I haven't forgotten about them, but I rarely have any reason to think about them. Looking back I feel like I was kind of stupid in some of my decisions, and some of the things he did and said make me cringe. But thankfully we are way beyond that. We rarely, if ever, fight. When we do have disagreements, we are able to talk them out and smooth them over. We know how to fight now, which I have learned is extremely important in relationships. But mostly, we just enjoy each other's company. We get along incredibly well. We have great conversations, we crack each other up constantly, we are very affectionate. It's all wonderful and I can only hope it continues to be so positive.

I guess the short point of all that is, I could not be less concerned about his bachelor trip to Miami, and I assume he is not at all worried about my trip back to Arkansas. The only thing we're sad about is being away from each other for 4 days. And that is such a great place to be.

prev or next