current
archives
profile
info
email
notes
host
design

texts from the ex
19 January 2010 at 5:24 pm

Texts from The Ex. Came out of nowhere. Note that we have not really talked in months and ended on horrible terms.

------------------------

EX: Hey, thanks for that great birthday you made. And a good year.

ME: Oh, wow. You're welcome.. And happy birthday soon, damn.

EX: Time flies by right!! Growing up... hehe

ME: Ha, exactly what I was thinking. Well, I hope you have a nice one.

EX: I can't wait to talk to you later in life. I think that's gonna be really cool.
A way to look forward to shit in addition to the common tendency of lamenting the passing of time... I see Indians daily. What a world. Thanks again, seriously.

ME: I wouldn't have ever guessed you feel that way but it's nice to know you do... If I'm interpreting it correctly anyway. You seem to be doing well. I hope that's true.

EX: Man, nobody can argue it wasn't a good thing, right? :) Erin, I made memories with you I'll keep for life - and there really special ones. The little hurts and youthful indiscretions will fade with time and are inconsequential. That was a phase of my life that mattered. And you're a gift from god just like all sweet folk.

I ran from my apt to Dickson tonight. And panting, trodding loosely uphill by Leverette and Berry, I thought of Bonnaroo - sweating, shoulder glistening. Missu.

ME: That's sweet of you to say. Of course you will always be a big part of my life. I certainly learned a lot about myself and relationships from it. I have my regrets and am sad to say I'm still dealing with things that resulted from our breakup but in the end I hope things work out how they're supposed to. Thank you for texting me. Peculiar timing but I've needed some closure, I think.

EX: No more feelin bad. Be yourself and get the most out of every moment. For our faults we greave at times. I wanna tell you: You, personally, have worth as well.

ME: Thank you [The Ex]. I appreciate that. Despite everything that has happened I do hope you find happiness in your life.

EX: Obv ditto.

ME: Good night. Have a happy birthday.

------------------------

Sometimes I wish I weren't so nice.

What I wanted to say was something like,

Fuck you for what you did. The "little indiscretion" that you made when you sent my diary to Diego has nearly ruined our chances at happiness multiple times. It may actually be what kills the relationship, if anything. He's everything I want and he's absolutely perfect for me, but our only problems stem from what you sent him. I will never forgive you.

I don't forgive him for doing that, but I wasn't the only victim in the relationship. I screwed him over as well. So the issues that Diego and I are having... well, maybe that's karma. And in a way, while what has happened sucks and I would change it in a second if I could, it's made me realize - seriously this time, I swear - that lying and cheating are not things I want to ever do again. And I've learned how to NOT do it. I just wish Diego believed me. I think he's giving me another chance so I know if I fuck it up whatsoever, I'm gone.

More on the break and our issues later. Just wanted to type The Ex's texts out for reference purposes.. I need him out of my phone's inbox now. Because while I was nice to him and I do wish him the best in life, I don't want anything to do with him. Seeing him is inevitable, and maybe one day I'll feel okay enough to meet up with him, but I am not going to get myself involved again. I'm glad I had that closure, but I still haven't seen him face to face since everything unfolded, so that's going to be a whole 'nother ordeal.

prev or next