current
archives
profile
info
email
notes
host
design

teton trip
12 August 2010 at 2:36 pm

Thought I'd try to update while I have some alone time.

In short, my trip was wonderful.

I had really been missing my family, so it was great spending time with them (even if they were a bit much at times -- they're family; it's to be expected). Being able to spend over two weeks with my mom, my 20 year old brother, my 19 year old step sister, my 17 year old sister, and my 14 year old brother and loving them the entire time made me feel extremely lucky.

Thankfully my step dad was not with us during the very long road trip part because he tends to create a lot of tension. He was alright during the rest of the trip.... I'm not really in the mood to get into step dad issues though. I'll just say that while I feel bad for the guy and his sad life, I can't really pity anybody who seems to ask for problems or does nothing to fix those that come their way.
I hate saying it, but I really think he and my mom would be better off separated. Their relationship seems to bring in more sadness and frustration than happiness. But at the same time I worry about what on earth he would do if my mom did divorce him. He is already struggling with alcoholism and bouts of depression so it probably wouldn't be good.

Anyway, I don't want to focus on that. I just haven't talked about it in a while...

Overall the trip was very fun and very memorable. The climb to the Grand Teton itself was probably one of the most physically challenging things I've ever done. Two days of intense hiking/ climbing some 18 miles and a vertical increase of 7000 feet is rough. Not to mention the hours... Day one involved hiking from 10 am until 6 pm and day two involved hiking and climbing to the summit from 4 am till 9 am and climbing aallll the way back down from 1 pm till 6 pm.
Needless to say, I was extremely physically and emotionally exhausted afterwards.
I probably will never do it again. I love hiking and camping -- don't get me wrong -- but that was a bit too overwhelming (especially with little experience).

My mom, John Michael and Lauren didn't make it to the summit. I'm already proud of myself for getting to the top, but knowing that not everyone could handle it makes me even more proud.

I've been home for about a week now and things couldn't be better on this front. I may have to do another entry about life in California another time... I need to get ready for dinner with Clint, Clint's brother and Clint's mom.

But I will say that I've never been so happy with someone. I adore Clint and he adores me and we couldn't be happier. He's an amazing person and a perfect boyfriend and I wouldn't change a thing.

I miss my family and I really miss my girlfriends (and friends in general -- I was spoiled at college seeing dozens of people daily) but I know that I'll make new friends here with time (and a job). And I'm only an airplane ride away from being home if need be.

Anyway I really need to jump in the shower...

prev or next