current
archives
profile
info
email
notes
host
design

september-june
29 June 2013 at 12:23 pm

It's been nearly 10 MONTHS since I last wrote.

Jesus, how time flies.

Lots has happened.

I officially quit my last job in early October. The place became a shit show, and still is. I'm surprised they're still in business, frankly. I doubt it'll last.

Clint and I spent almost a week in NYC in October. The first day of our vacation, we went for a bike ride in Central Park and BAM, both bones in his arm (near his wrist) are severely broken and fractured. Spent the next 36 hours in the Emergency Room. So the trip didn't exactly go as planned, though we still managed to have some fun and see The Book of Mormon (hilarious). Clint was pretty depressed about his arm for a while after that though, unfortunately.

We went to Mexico in November (Thanksgiving week) with my mom, brothers and sister and Clint's mom and brother. It was such a great vacation and it was awesome having both families together and getting along so well. Except Clint's arm was still in a cast, so unfortunately that vacation didn't go as planned, either. STILL, managed to have fun. Thank god Clint's a trooper!

In December we stayed in California. The holiday season was great! We had a Christmas party at our new place, which was a blast. Christmas Eve was awkward because Dan and Elvira got into a huge, ridiculous screaming match (well, Elvira did most of the screaming) that got so concerning that Clint offered to let the kids stay with us downstairs. They took us up on our offer, but only for a few minutes. It was sad, and it made us both mad that they would let that happen on Christmas Eve.

We spent a couple days in Big Bear with Dan and Elvira and the rest of the family a few days later. It was okay. Skiing was amazing and it was gorgeous, but we don't get along too well with all of that family. It's just that we have very little in common with them, interest-wise, personality-wise, etc. But what can ya do.

We celebrated the new year at Matt and Dani's house, with a bunch of people I knew, lots I didn't know, and even 2 girls I knew from Arkansas who happened to be in town! We all got properly drunk and it was a big success, although Matt and Dani are apparently still finding confetti in random places to this day.

In January I started a new job at an insurance marketing company. I'm an administrative assistant. It's okay. It's really boring at times, but I'm getting paid, the people are cool, it's a super chill environment, and it's in a great location. I can't complain.

I don't remember much about February. Same with March, with the exception that Clint and I drove to LA to see John Michael and hang with him for a couple hours. He was in town for a film conference. Love that kid. That night we celebrated Danny O's birthday at Medieval Times.

April is my birthday month, so I always love it. But it was extra special this year because my mom, Elle and Lauren came out to visit me! Just for a long weekend, but it was still really nice and much needed. I had a nice birthday dinner with the girls, Clint and Clint's mom, and a fun pool party with some friends for my actual birthday.

May was fairly busy. Clint, Matt, Dani and I participated in a 5K obstacle course "fun run". I only ran like twice before that to "prepare" so I wasn't in the best shape for any kind of race, but I still survived (thanks to a lot of walking and a lot of obstacles!). Later in May, Clint and I went to Arkansas. Spent a few days in Fayetteville and a few days in Little Rock. Sarah and Andrew had their Engagement Party (in LR), and I really wanted to be there for her. (Especially since I'm a bridesmaid.) It was a great reunion with a lot of people I haven't seen in forever, but especially with my "six-pack" girls. And in Fayetteville we had some friends and family over one evening, which was also really nice. It was a very busy week, trying to see as many people as possible in a short period of time. We'll be going back in November for the actual wedding, and even though I know better, I'm hoping we'll have some time to relax a little more during that trip.

Aaaannndd that brings us to June! Clint's brother Collin moved in with us temporarily at the beginning of the month. It's been nice! We were worried about the dynamic, seeing as we haven't had a roommate in the 3 years that we've lived together, but he works nights so there is a lot of overlap that really helps the situation. I'm not sure how much longer he'll be here. Besides that, nothing really "big" has happened. It's just been a happy, warm, fun month for the most part!

-----

I wasn't planning on mapping out the entire past 9 months, hah, but it's nice to be able to look back on these things, especially since my memory is kinda shit.

Clint and I couldn't be happier. I still freaking adore him, and he is still the most affectionate, lovey-dovey, wonderful boyfriend I could ask for. For most of the 9 months he's had to deal with his anxiety issues and some stress (from work) issues, but he's been coping much better lately. He's been doing a lot of meditating and practicing mindfulness, which has helped tremendously. I'm very proud of him. I hate that he has to go through it because I know it kills him, but he's so strong-willed that I know he'll get through it.

I've been seeing a therapist almost weekly for the past couple weeks as well. Just to deal with my dad issues and some relationship struggles that probably stem from my dad issues. It's helped a lot. I just want to get to the point where I don't cry nearly every time he comes up in conversation. Any additional help, confidence, understanding, etc. that comes along with it is great, too. I don't love my therapist (she's great, just maybe not for me necessarily), so I'm not sure how much longer I'll stay with her, but I think it's been an overall positive experience.

God, there's so many little things I could write about, but I'm gonna wrap it up for now. Maybe I won't go so freaking long till the next update, but I always say that.

prev or next