current
archives
profile
info
email
notes
host
design

a determining weekend
29 January 2010 at 1:24 pm

My laundry will be dry in 20 minutes, so I'm going to write a quick update till then.

I'm going back to San Diego to see my Clinton this evening! School was closed due to inclement weather and I'm a bit concerned it's going to affect my flight... If all goes according to plan, however, I'll arrive around 11 pm and we'll go to this hotel that we rented for two nights that looks absolutely gorgeous. (It's on this peninsula-island area, not exactly sure, so we'll be surrounded by the ocean in 70 degree weather and I'm just the luckiest little thing ever.)
We got the hotel for Saturday because a friend of his is getting married that day but we ended up getting it Friday too because the airport is 10 minutes away, rather than the 40+ minutes from his house.

I'm so excited for this weekend. I'm a little weirded out about the wedding because this girl used to have a huge crush on Clint...

She's marrying this guy because they have a baby together but apparently she doesn't even really love (or like?) him. And he might be gay?

So the situation in and of itself is awkward, but made even more uncomfortable because a few months into my relationship with Clint he would tell me about her and how she would always call him and tell him how much she thinks about him and so forth. And when she found out about me she made some degrading remark like, "Well of course she likes you, she's just a little girl from Arkansas." So, knowing all these things, I've never been a huge fan of hers.

I met her once when I visited but she didn't say anything to me but "nice to meet you". She was drunk and with her best friends so I didn't expect it, but I was hoping we could chat and be friendly so we could put that behind us. But no.

So when Clint asked if he could bring me to the wedding she apparently gave him a dirty look (despite her husband being there) and was like "I don't know how I feel about that" but then warmed up to the idea. Especially when he told her he wouldn't go if he couldn't bring me.

Ouch.

So we're going! I don't want to toot my own horn or sound like a horrible person by saying this, but it's almost like I'm worried she's going to be jealous of me on her wedding day. It's a depressing fact, but the situation makes it seem so. So I'll be very nice of course and I will avoid catching the bouquet (I think that would really upset her...) and hopefully all will go well.

Hahahaha.

At least his guy friends will be there to make things less awkward for me.

I really think it will be fine. I'm so excited about this weekend. We've made huge strides in the past few days... I've expressed my concerns, he's expressed his, and we've really committed to each other. So this trip, where we finally get to see each other in person, will seal the deal, in a sense.
Or we'll realize it simply can't happen and we'll end it for good.
But at this point I'm very confident. We just love each other. Since I got my phone back we've been talking for hours every night, like before, and it's been so nice.

I can't wait to be with him, though. Touch him and smell him and look into his eyes and play with his hands and kiss him and have sex with him.
Mmmmmmmmm.

My timer just went off. Time to pack everything up and get ready to go!

Have a great weekend.

prev or next