current
archives
profile
info
email
notes
host
design

thesis results and life updates
08 April 2010 at 8:41 pm

I guess I could have waited 3 more days to make it an entire month since I've updated, but now's as good of a time as any. Especially since my computer is completely fucked at the moment. Writing diary entries in a public computer lab does not exactly make me feel secure, but it's pretty empty at the moment and I'm in a corner by myself.

This past month has been a good one.

Last time I wrote I had just finished taking two midterms and writing my senior thesis and was getting ready to start my spring break in San Diego.

Finishing those exams and turning in my thesis was such a relief, to finally be done with everything before the break, but there was still a great deal of concern about how well I did on everything.

I ended up making a C- on the exam I spent 2 minutes studying for and seriously thought I failed. So while that was an extremely disappointing grade, I was okay with it considering the situation.

I made an A+ on my religion mid-term, which was very exciting.

But even better than that was that I made an A- on my senior thesis!!
Seriously, finding this out has been one of the happiest moments of my Hendrix career. I guess that makes sense, considering it's probably the biggest deal..
I knew I wouldn't fail it, but I did NOT think I would get an A-, holy shit. I was so shocked. Before I found out the actual grade, I got an email from one of my professors informing me that I qualified to interview for distinction (which meant I got a B+ or higher). I was one of 5 people in the Politics AND International Relations department to recieve such an honor. I'm seriously so thrilled.
My interview is on Monday. It's 30 minutes long, with three professors. I have no idea what to expect. I don't even care. I'm not expecting to get distinction, because I'm not sure I'm all that distinct, but there was no way I was passing the opportunity up, even though I'm pretty nervous.

Anyway, I'm so stoked.

And the Wednesday after that I'm going to Montana to present my project at this National Conference of Undergraduate Research. I'm more concerned about that, although it doesn't mean anything, because I hate public speaking. Not my thing. Talking to three professors is intimidating enough, but at least I know them and feel comfortable with them. A crowd of 10-50 (no idea) students, however, worries me.

Oh well. As soon as I get past the nerve-y shakes and quivering voice I'll do fine.

----------------------------

I guess the other big thing in my life is Clint.

Since I wrote last, I've been to San Diego twice! Once for a week for my spring break, and once for less than 3 days last weekend for my mom's birthday. Stuart surprised her with a trip out there, then doubly surprised her by having me show up! It was really fucking cute. She had NO idea! It worked out really well.

Both trips were a lot of fun. Spring break was very relaxing, very comfortable, very warm. Exactly what I needed. This last trip was very in-and-out, which was a bummer, but it was still nice to see him.

We've had two little arguments -- one a week or two after the break, one on the last night of the last trip.

We've resolved everything since then, but it was difficult.

I hate fighting with Clint.

I don't really want to go into it right now, but both instances weren't even big deals. Basically an issue of thinking about things differently / a drunken misunderstanding. Nothing every relationship-breaking-worthy, but still shitty.

Fighting is never fun, but fighting with him can be particularly frustrating.

I'm going to a counselor tomorrow and I'm hoping she can give me some advice. Because if he always "fights" in the way he does, I'm not sure I can handle it. I know he'd be willing to adjust his behavior if I talk about it with him and tell him that it's important to me. But when everything is resolved, I don't ever really feel like going back to our issues, you know?

Anyway. Not a big deal. Maybe I'll write about it later. I'm just not in the mood now.

Those issues have made up about 1% of our relationship, so really, everything is great! He's incredibly sweet and always so supportive of me. He's interested in what I have to say and he respects my opinions. We have great conversations, and we trust each other. (Or, I trust him and he trusts me more now than he ever has.) He's hilarious and sexy and fun and driven and a hard worker. Really, I don't have many issues at all. Except the way he handles arguments. We'll work on that though.

(Desiree' - He's not verbally abusive like he was that one time. And he's apologized many times about that since then.)

Anyway.

Right now I'm pretty set on moving out there with him. We'll see how things go, of course, but things look really good at the moment! I'm going to start looking for job opportunities soon. I have a couple ideas.

It's still scary thinking about living with someone I've known for 9 months and have been seriously dating for about half of that. But he's not just some guy. If he weren't really special, I wouldn't be considering this. Yet there are still a number of questions, uncertainties... If it doesn't work out between us, so be it. I could easily stay in SD, or move back home, or travel the world, or do anything I wanted. And it would be okay. But I figure there's no reason not to try, because if it does work out it could be really great. And I don't want to avoid some decision just because there is some risk involved.

Graduation is only 5 weeks away.

I have SO much to do until then, but I'll try not to let diaryland get put on the back burner. Thankfully Lauren, Kristen and I have only gotten closer this semester, so I can rant and rave to them about things. But it's still cathartic to spill everything on a personal diary....

prev or next