current
archives
profile
info
email
notes
host
design

end of the job search
18 February 2011 at 4:37 pm

A quick update of life these past few months...

My internship ended. I didn't get hired on full time because I didn't make the minimum amount of sales required. I was unaware of that requirement so I was a little upset about that, but I honestly doubt I would have done a ton better if I had known. I'm terrible at sales. I hate sales. So while I was upset initially (I loved the company, the people I worked with, the consulting aspect of the job, and learning about Internet marketing), I decided to take it as a compliment.

After that ended, I spent about a month doing some heavy job searching. I scoured Craigslist daily and sent a ton of resumes and wrote personalized cover letters while watching The Price Is Right and other day time TV. I started to get discouraged after a while, but after posting my resume on Careerbuilder and signing up with a temp agency the action started to pick up. I interviewed for two positions that I was sought out for and was asked to move forward but, alas, they involved sales so I declined. I finally got a call back for a position that I actually applied for, but they decided to hire a friend of the company. Then finally I interviewed for a position set up through a temp agency and got it! It's only a 3 month stint (unless they continue to stay busy, in which they'll potentially keep me on) and it's basically a administrative / receptionist position so it's not terribly challenging or exciting, but I like it. There are only 3 other people working there and it's really laid back. Anyway, it's not my dream job by any means, but I'm finally making money and fattening up my resume!

However, between interviewing for that job and getting offered the position I interviewed for another job that would be challenging, rewarding, interesting, and something I could see myself growing in. I just found out that I got offered a second interview with them, and I don't really know what to do. I can't abandon my current job, but I don't want to pass up a potentially great opportunity either. We'll see.

My sister visited last weekend and we had a great time. She was only here Thursday through Sunday so it was much too short, but it was fun. We also got to see some cousins who were in town, and that Monday I got to spend some time with one of my best friends from college.

After a whirlwind of a weekend and a week of work, I'm pretty exhausted. I haven't been able to sleep in past 7 (and I'm waking up at 6 for work) for 8 days! A petty complaint, but I suppose it's a good sign if that's all I have to complain about.

Clint and I are great. We didn't do much for Valentine's Day, because neither of us really care about it. And anyway, we do special lovey things for each other randomly throughout the year so I didn't feel it was necessary. I wrote him a really nice card though, which he loved, and he got us tickets to go kayaking in the La Jolla caves sometime this spring, which I'm stoked about!

He's really good to me. I've been living with him for 8 months, and we're as happy as ever. Every day that we see each other after work is a mini celebration. We're honest with each other, we have excellent, thought-provoking conversations regularly, the sex is frequent and excellent, we're very passionate, and I could not see myself with anyone else.

I feel like I've said something to that effect in every entry recently, but I suppose that's a good thing!

It's raining out now, which I love. Radiohead's new album just came out, and rain and Radiohead go well together in my opinion so I think I'll do that while waiting for the boy to come home.

prev or next