current
archives
profile
info
email
notes
host
design

end of the job search II
04 March 2011 at 5:37 pm

From the last entry: ... However, between interviewing for that job and getting offered the position I interviewed for another job that would be challenging, rewarding, interesting, and something I could see myself growing in. I just found out that I got offered a second interview with them, and I don't really know what to do. I can't abandon my current job, but I don't want to pass up a potentially great opportunity either. We'll see.

After a second (very difficult!) interview with them, they asked me back to do a third working interview. I took off two hours early of my current job and stayed for about 3 hours doing various tasks. Then the two head guys of the company asked to talk to me, and that conversation was, in part, to offer me the position! I was not expecting it (I figured they were doing the same with others as well so I assumed I'd just hear from them in a few days), but I was SO excited. After the initial excitement I got kind of anxious about having to end things with the current position, but I tried not to let that worry me.

The new job sounds amazing. It seems like it will be a really good fit for my personality, my interests and skills, and, most importantly, for what I really need in a job right now. They're looking for someone to essentially "fill the gaps" and do a little bit of everything as they continue to grow, but, along they way, they want to assess my strengths and eventually put me in my own position depending on what I like and thrive in. Considering I have NO idea what I want to do with my life (in a concrete way, at least), this is so ideal. I feel very fortunate to have happened across this position and I feel very proud to have been offered it.

The pay will be almost twice as much as I was getting at the other job, which is fantastic. And there are nice benefits, potential for bonuses, the first Friday of every month off, the rest of the Fridays off early, Mondays start an hour late, and a monthly fun team event (BBQ, bowling, etc). Everyone is very nice, funny, sarcastic, smart, and very hard working.

I was kind of nervous about telling my temp agency consultant (Eva) about the situation and very nervous about having her tell my boss (while I was there working!), but I had zero reason to be worried. It couldn't have gone smoother. Eva did all the mediating, but Brayden (my boss) called me in after he spoke with her and although he was sad to see me go, he was very happy for me and was very complimentary, saying "I don't know how much the temp agency was paying you for this job, but I am certain it was not near as much as you're worth." He also said he would leave me a great recommendation and although he hoped everything worked out for me, he said they would be there if I needed a job in the future. (Apparently he and Eva began negotiating terms for my permanent employment with them because he liked me so much, but it was not official so I was technically not supposed to know.)

Anyway, I end my current job Wednesday and begin the new one Thursday. I am elated. It's a real job! Finally! I'm going to kick so much ass that they'll never have an ounce of regret or doubt for hiring me on. I can't wait.

prev or next